Emporia-Lyon County Joint Board of Zoning Appeals

Complete this form to become a member of a board or commission.


  • 6:00 pm
  • 3rd Tuesday of each month
  • Civic Building Municipal Court Room


All applicants should be in attendance for their public hearing, or the application may be tabled until the next meeting.

All applications and required materials are due 45 days before the public hearing.

Vacancies: 0

The board consists of seven members appointed by the City Commission.  It is the primary function of this board to hear and decide appeals where a variance or special use permit may be allowed. The decisions of the Zoning Board of Appeals are final and not acted upon by the City Commission.

Members serve a three-year term which expires on December 31. Members are limited to two (2) consecutive terms. Board members must reside within City of Emporia.


  • Kenton Thomas - Chair
  • Monica Duncan - Vice Chair
  • Larry Bucklinger
  • Ken Weaver
  • William Barnes
  • Raymond Rodgers
  • Tami Ogle