Emporia-Lyon County Metropolitan Area Planning Commission

Complete this form to become a member of a board or commission.


  • 6:00 pm
  • 3rd Tuesday of the month (unless posted otherwise)
  • Civic Building Municipal Court Room


All applications and required materials are due 45 days before the public hearing.

Vacancies: 0

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Commissioners of the City of Emporia. As a primary function, the Commission has the responsibility for the preparation, adoption, and recommendation of a long-range Comprehensive Plan to guide the future physical development of the Emporia-Lyon County Metropolitan Area, and hears all applications for zoning changes.

Members serve a three-year term which expires on December 31 and may serve no more than two consecutive three-year terms. 

Board members must reside within the City of Emporia.


  • Kenton Thomas - Chair
  • Monica Duncan - Vice Chair
  • Larry Bucklinger
  • William Barnes
  • Ken Weaver
  • Raymond Rogers
  • Tami Ogle